Corona Light Wide Open

Follow us on Twitter
Read the Blurry Blog

Scott and Hyden Take Men’s Championship at 2011 Corona Light Wide Open Event in Siesta Key

SIESTA KEY, Fla. (June 12, 2011) --- The top seeded team of Sean Scott and John Hyden captured the Men’s Open championship in the first of four 2011 Corona Light Wide Open events scheduled for this summer, when Kevin McColloch and Matt Olson had to withdraw from Sunday’s final at Siesta Key Beach after McColloch could not contest the match because of severe cramping.

Scott, from Honolulu, Hawaii, and Hyden, of San Diego, Calif., claimed the $7,500 winners’ check and pocketed an additional $5,000 bonus for going undefeated as the top seeds throughout the weekend. The duo advanced to the championship match with a 15-2, ret. win over Ty Loomis and Mark Williams, when Williams was forced to retire after cramping during the match. McColloch, of Cardiff, Calif., and Olson, from Solano Beach, Calif., won the contenders bracket to earn a spot in the final, but Sunday’s intense heat took its toll on the California duo and forced them out of the championship match.
In the Women’s Open final, the top seeded team of Lisa Rutledge and Brittany Hochevar, also went undefeated for the weekend and picked up $12,500, including the $5,000 bonus, for their effort. Rutledge, from San Diego, Calif. and Hochevar, from Hermosa Beach, Calif., defeated Whitney Pavlik, of Laguna Hills, Calif. and Jenny Kropp, from Hawthorne, Calif. in the Women’s Open final, 21-18, 17-21, 15-11.
Both Scott and Hyden and Rutledge and Hochevar earned automatic berths into the 2011 US Open of Beach Volleyball, which will be played Labor Day weekend in Cincinnati, Ohio.
Championships were also claimed in several amateur divisions over the weekend, including the Men’s AA division championships, which was won by David Hansell, of St. Petersburg, Fla. and Shawn Quillen, of Dade City, Fla. The Men’s BB division was won by Christopher Vones, of Vermillion, Ohio and Jeff Svec, from Olmsted Falls, Ohio, while Sage Newgood, of Groveland, Fla. And Joshua Velarded, from Bradenton, Fla. Took top honors in the Men’s B division.
The Women’s AA draw was won by Katra Saavedra, of Brandon, Fla. and Tessa Wolf, from Sarasota, Fla., and Taylor Eiken, from Port Charlotte, Fla. and Bree Scarbrough, from Sarasota, Fla., took top honors in the Women’s A division. The Women’s B/BB championship went to Hannah Richards, of Nokomis, Fla. and her partner Courtney Krause, from Venice, Fla.
The coed Open division was won by Curt Toppel, of Pacific Palisades, Calif., and Laryssa Mereszczak, from EL Segundo, Calif. The Coed B division winners were Ben Sevlie, from Red Wing, N.M. and Natalie Gaudreau, of Sarasota, Fla.
The 2011 Corona Light Wide Open now moves to Seaside Heights, N. J. with two days of action on June 25 and 26. The tour also has events scheduled in Chicago, Ill. and Hermosa Beach, Calif. in August.
For more information and entry details for all Corona Light Wide Open events, visit